First-rate Finds: Gigi the office copy-girl

Let me introduce you to a handy friend of mine. I call her Gigi: Keeper of the Carbon Paper and Unabashed Fan of all things Beige and Tan. Gigi for short.

GigiPack

This pack of carbon paper is almost a family heirloom. I saved it when our first family computer came along back in the late 1980’s, and my dad packed away his typewriter in favour of the dulcet tones of a dot-matrix printer instead.

Since then, Gigi’s carbon paper sheets have seen me through design school and into the years beyond. Every time I’ve needed to transfer an illustration onto a final work surface, Gigi’s been my go-to girl.

These days, because I tend to draw from life – directly onto the surface I plan to paint on, Gigi doesn’t get much of a look-in, but last week, I thought I’d try a different approach.

FinalRosesDwg
Final drawing…Ouch – that’s a lot of detail.

In hindsight, I should disclose that the carbon line-work can end up showing through less opaque paints – depending on how heavy-handed your tracing technique is. But it’s still a handy tool to have in the art drawer at home.

I doubt that stationery stores still stock carbon paper like this (certainly not with such a glamorous, polyester-clad cover girl), but a quick Google search reveals that art & craft stores like Spotlight sell something similar, which they market for sewers to transfer patterns with.

So there you have it. Something else to come out of the seventies that’s useful, besides Post-It Notes, hacky-sacks and me.

Does anyone else have vintage stationery supplies they still use for art or other pursuits? Gigi would like to meet them.

FV_bwcirclelogo


If Gigi’s not your thing, have a browse around to see some of my other work. Better still, hit Follow and I’ll deliver future posts to your inbox as soon as they’re published.

Leave a Reply

