Practice makes Progress

Today marks six months since I began my superbly ordinary experiment of Getting My Art Into Gear.  Here’s some of what I’ve learned so far:

  • It’s difficult to motivate yourself to paint a brilliant piece of art, but it’s brilliantly motivating to just choose to paint and see what comes of it.

Rather than aiming for perfection, I aim for progress – that’s a goal I feel is achievable enough to start working with.

  • Waiting to feel ‘inspired’ usually results in feeling inspired to drink coffee and stare off into middle-space, which doesn’t produce many paintings.

    Making a deliberate choice to just get on with it and paint yields better (i.e. actual) results. Amazing, but true.

  • Blogging about my progress has been terrifically terrifying and rewarding all at the same time.

Blogging helps me feel accountable and keeps my motivation up. Putting my paintings ‘out there’ has provided me with useful and encouraging feedback as well as help and information along the way. This week I received news that my blog made Editor’s Pick on the Discover WordPress site – so how’s that for affirmation?!

  • All in good time…

    I’ve heard it said that to really hone a skill you need to put in something like 10,000 hours of practice. Even though this makes me want to slap the smug face of the well-practiced person who first discovered this, I must admit, it’s probably true.

    It has taken more than five months of very part-time painting for me to feel like I am even close to hitting some sort of stride. So perhaps patience and persistence will pay off in the long run. In the very long run.

  • You never can tell what people will like.

    Interestingly, some of the paintings I am least satisfied with, I have received the most positive feedback about. I don’t have any sage conclusions about this, but it might be worth remembering when I’m next doing battle with the brush.

 

So, Happy Half-Birthday to me, and thanks for stopping by from time to time – it’s been a pleasure. Oh, and this:

rwb_final
‘Red, White & Blue’ – 8 x 10″ oil on canvas board

You didn’t really think I’d post without a picture, did you?


Would you like to keep closer tabs on my progress? Consider clicking the ‘Follow’ button in the right hand margin to have these posts delivered straight to your inbox.

One thought on “Practice makes Progress

  1. That works – now try adding some of the dark colour in the shadows inside the red cups to the blue of the shadow inside the white cup that’s lying on its side; just where it meets the upper rim. Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

