And it’s Beige! Beige! Beige! for Australia

There’s no easy way to say this, but I think I might be a bit over the Olympics.

Perhaps I have ‘Elite Performance Fatigue’.  All those stories of grit and determination in the face of pain, hardship and a strictly salad-without-dressing diet…

Perhaps it’s because every minute I spend watching those focussed, determined and insensitively buff people achieve their goals, I know that I do so at the cost of my own ‘paint every spare minute’ and ‘steer clear of TV’ goals.

But in truth, I think I’m just over-saturated with all the out-of-the-ordinary, truly remarkable exceptionalism.

I want to bring back some Ordinary.

For quite a while now, I have been quite taken with Ordinary. Those things in life that we all seem to overlook, but which feature in our everyday and without which we would struggle – or at the very least feel poorer for no longer having. It’s my unconscious attachment to something as simple as a clothes peg that makes it for me, extra ordinary.

Hence the title of my site: extra | ordinary.

This year, as I attempt to get my art into gear and paint my under-achieving, overly high b.p.m. heart out, I’m aiming for Beige.

I’m going to paint things that are run-of-the-mill. Stuff that never gets a second thought. The objects in the back pocket of my everyday life.

Here’s a start: I’d like to have finished this one already, but as I mentioned; the Olympics.

String1

A standing ovation to string, ladies and gentlemen. And buttons.

This is the under-painting. My former teacher might cringe that I’ve drawn line-work as opposed to shapes and shadows, but what can I say? I’m a massive risk-taker.

And here’s the progress I’ve made so far. Building up contrast in the string, adding in detail for the buttons, and seriously procrastinating on putting in any background. The result of my experience with Pokey the Wooden Hedgehog I feel.

If you’ve got some suggestions of ordinary things that I could try my hand at painting, drop me a line and I’ll add it to my list. If it’s something like the inner workings of your grandfather’s pocket watch, I probably won’t try painting it, but don’t let that stop you.

So here’s to the run-of-the-mill. High fives for the hum-drum. Let’s congratulate the conventional and please, please, put some dressing on my salad.

One thought on “And it’s Beige! Beige! Beige! for Australia

Leave a Reply

